Released in UK on June, 1 1967

Parlophone PMC 7027 (mono), PCS 7027 (stereo)

and in the USA on June, 2 1967

Capitol MAS-2653 (mono), SMAS-2653 (stereo)


my personal RATING : κκκκκ (out of 5)


During the last American tour, Paul McCartney had been very impressed by the strange names of the local bands.

On their model he proposed to use an alter ego for the Beatles, something in tribute to the past Edoardian orchestras.

So the Beatles became the Sgt.Pepper's Lonely Hearts club band.

The long silence started after Revolver (breaked only with the Strawberry Fields/Penny Lane EP release) at last finished

on June, 1 when the most famous post-war summer's dawn broke with Sgt.Pepper's Lonely hearts club band (the 8th Beatles album) release.

With Sgt. Pepper's the Beatles changed from Black & White into colours; they could practically allow theirselves what they

The first concept album contained for the first time all the lyrics of the songs, coloured cut-out pictures and a 

numeric index which reveals each character posing with the group on the sleeve.

The genuine inspiration and the enthusiastic spirit of creation permeate all the tracks which, in some cases, are joined in

opposition of the past standards which considered each song as separate from the others.

The sequence of the songs on Pepper is famous in itself, being - on the vinyl version - two continuous sides of music, 

without pauses between songs, or "banding", to use recording parlance.


But the line-up of side one, as first conceived, was different to how it finally evolved, and was as follows:

1. Sgt. Pepper's lonely hearts club band - 2.With a little help from my friends - 3.Being for the benefit of Mr.Kite" -

4. Fixing a hole - 5.Lucy in the sky with diamonds - 6.Getting better  - 7.She's leaving home.

By suitably programming your compact disc hardware you'll be able to hear the album as it was originally intended.

Extracted from "The Beatles at Abbey Road, 1987 



Here you'll find my personal rating for each song (out of 5 stars):                           







1. Sgt. Pepper's lonely hearts club band κκκ½

2. With a little help from my friends κκκ½

3. Lucy in the sky with diamonds κκκκ

4. Getting better κκκ½

5. Fixing a hole κκκ

6. She's leaving home κκκκ

7. Being for the benefit of Mr. Kite κκκ½

8. Within you without you κκκ

9. When I'm sixty-four κκκ½

10.Lovely Rita κκκ

11.Good morning good morning κκ

12.Sgt. Pepper's lonely hearts club band (reprise) κκκ

13.A day in the life κκκκκ



Recorded at Abbey Road studios from December 1966 to April 1967.

Produced by George Martin.



Before posing for the album sleeve (Top)

The Beatles at the "Pepper''s" presentation (Bottom - photo by Linda Eastman) 1967.